Frequently asked questions

Why are so many credential providers installed on my Windows?

There are many credential providers integrated in Microsoft Windows. Microsoft wants to provide a range of authentication methods to their users, even if they are not displayed. Since the Microsoft Account was introduced to use the same account for all your devices more credential providers are installed, like fingerprint or a picture password.

Also, some manufacturers of business PC solutions integrate their own credential providers in their OEM-Versions of Windows.

Which credential provider must be deactivated, to prevent password logon?

If you have a standard Windows installation, just switch off the “Microsoft Password Provider”. If your manufacturer has implemented its own credential provider, you may have to switch this one off too.

Which TCP-Port must be open for the online activation?

If you want the online activation to work, please open TCP-Port 2301 in both directions in your firewall. Please note, that a proxy still can cause trouble with the online activation, but you can enter it in the general settings.

How to enable 2-factor-authentication in safe mode too?

To enable the 2-factor-authentication in safe mode too, you must edit your Windows registry. Create a REG_DWORD with the name “ProhibitFallbacks” under
“HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\CurrentVersion\Authentication\Credential Providers”.

You will find further information about this here*. Please be aware, you can’t use safe mode without network drivers if this option is set.
*https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/windowsdesktop/en-US/b943227f-0df6-4924-987e-78f6479d4ce2/boot-as-safe-mode-vista-never-call-custom-credential-provider?forum=windowssecurity

How to enable or disable the support for a special kind of SecurityToken?

To enable or disable support for a special kind of SecurityToken, you need the digitronic® Token Engine Manager. This program can be accessed via the programs list in your start menu in the folder “Token Engine” or you navigate to “C:\Program Files\Common Files\digitronic\Manager”.

It is possible to enable or disable different kinds of SecurityToken in the settings of digitronic® Token Engine Manager.

A standard installation with Secure Logon™ 2.0 installer uses MIFARE DESFire as supported Token.

Do I really need the old and a new password, when I change my password?

The old password has to be entered for security and confidentiality purpose. It is possible to configure Secure Logon™ 2.0 in a way, that this is not necessary and the password linked with the SecurityToken is used.

To configure Secure Logon™ 2.0 to this behaviour open the Windows registry and navigate to “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\digitronic\SecureLogon2\CredentialProvider”. Create a REG_DWORD with the name “ChangePasswordWithTokenFlags” and a value of one.

If this key already exists you must XOR it with “0x1“.

This feature is available since credential provider version 1.0.5.427.

How to forbid users to open the Secure Logon™ 2.0 Manager, if they are not administrators?

If you do not want users to edit their SecurityToken when they are not part of the administrators group, set the following REG_DWORD. Please navigate in Windows registry to “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\digitronic\SecureLogon2\Manager” and create a REG_DWORD with name “DisallowManagerUsageForUsers” and set the value to one.

This feature is available since Secure Logon™ 2.0 Manager 1.0.8.435.

How to disable SecurityToken initialization in Windows logon screen?

By default, each SecurityToken, which is supported to be initialized with digitronic® Token Engine, can also be initialized in Windows logon screen.

It is possible to disable this feature. You may want to do this, to prevent someone from creating a valid SecurityToken, by connecting an empty one. To prohibit initialization in logon screen open registry at: “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\digitronic\SecureLogon2\CredentialProvider”. Create a REG_DWORD, name it “DisableTokenInitialization” and set its value “1”.

This feature is available since credential provider version 1.0.5.427.

Is it possible to prevent no PIN usage when the SecurityToken is initialized in the logon screen?

In case your users initialize their SecurityToken in Windows logon screen, it is possible to disable the option “no PIN protection”. To do this, open Windows registry and navigate to “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\digitronic\SecureLogon2\CredentialProvider”. Then create a REG_DWORD with the value “1” and the name “TokenInitializationDisallowNullPIN”.

This feature is available since credential provider version 1.0.5.427.

How to prevent adding credentials during Windows logon?

If an initialized SecuredToken without any credentials linked to it is connected in Windows Logon screen, by default the possibility of linking is provided. You may want to prohibit this. This is possible by setting a REG_DWORD with the name “DisallowAddingCredentials” with the value “1” under “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\digitronic\SecureLogon2\CredentialProvider”.

This feature is available since credential provider version 1.0.5.427.

How to deactivate an activated Secure Logon™ 2.0 licence?

If you want to deactivate an active Secure Logon™ 2.0 licence, you have to uninstall Secure Logon™ 2.0. At the end of this process, before the “completed dialogue” appears a pop up appears. This pop up will inform you about the automatic deactivation.

If the deactivation was successful everything is fine, if not a Deactivation Key or an error will be displayed. You will also find the result in your Windows eventlog under the point “Applications”.

When an automatic deactivation fails, the pop up and the eventlog display a deactivation key.

Please enter this deactivation key at https://www.digitronic.net/en/service/license-activation-deactivation, or send it via E-Mail to support@digitronic.net or vertrieb@digitronic.net, so a staff member of digitronic® can complete your deactivation.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Warum sind bereits so viele Anmeldemethoden auf meinem Windows installiert?

Viele Credential Provider sind bereits im Microsoft Betriebssystem integriert. Microsoft möchte so seinen Nutzern bereits eine Reihe von Authentifizierungsmöglichkeiten anbieten. Im Besonderen die Einführung eines Accounts über alle Windows Geräte (Desktop-PC, Laptop, Tablet, Smartphone) hat dazu geführt, dass Microsoft eine Reihe eigener Credential Provider bereitstellt.

Des Weiteren haben einige Hersteller von PC-Komplettsystemen eigene Credential Provider vorinstalliert.

Welche Credential Provider muss ich abschalten, um mich nicht mehr mit Passwort anmelden zu können?

Auf einem Standard-Windows-System ist es ausreichend, dafür den „Microsoft Password Provider“ zu deaktivieren. Auf Komplett-PCs, bei denen der Hersteller einen eigenen Provider mitliefert, muss dieser möglicherweise zusätzlich deaktiviert werden.

Woran kann es liegen, dass die Online Aktivierung nicht funktioniert?

Eine Ursache dafür, dass die Online Aktivierung nicht funktioniert kann die Firewall sein. Dort muss Port 2301 in beide Richtungen freigegeben sein. Eine weitere Ursache kann die Verwendung eines Proxyservers sein. Diesen können Sie im Einstellungsdialog eintragen.

Wie kann man die 2-Faktor-Authentifizierung auch im abgesicherten Modus aktivieren?

Um die 2-Faktor-Authentifizierung auch im abgesicherten Modus zu verwenden muss in der Registry unter: „HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Authentication\Credential Providers“ ein DWORD mit dem Namen „ProhibitFallbacks“ angelegt werden. Diesen setzt man dann auf den Wert 1.

Nähere Informationen zu diesem Thema finden Sie hier*. Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie dann nur noch den abgesicherten Modus mit Netzwerktreibern verwenden können.
*https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/windowsdesktop/en-US/b943227f-0df6-4924-987e-78f6479d4ce2/boot-as-safe-mode-vista-never-call-custom-credential-provider?forum=windowssecurity

Wie wird die Unterstützung für bestimmte Token aktiviert oder deaktiviert?

Die Unterstützung für bestimmte Token wird im digitronic® Token Engine Manager aktiviert oder deaktiviert. Diesen findet man unter „C:\Program Files\Common Files\digitronic\Manager“.

In den Einstellungen der Token Engine lassen sich die verschiedenen Tokenarten ein- und ausschalten. Wir empfehlen nicht benötigte Tokenarten abzuschalten.

Bei einer Standardinstallation mithilfe des Secure Logon™ 2-Installers, wird Mifare DESFire als unterstützter Token eingestellt.

Kann man bei einer Passwortänderung auf die Eingabe des alten Kennwortes verzichten?

Aus Sicherheitsgründen wird bei der Änderung des Passwortes das alte Kennwort vom Benutzer erfragt. Man kann Secure Logon™ 2.0 jedoch so konfigurieren, dass als altes Passwort, jenes verwendet wird, welches sich auf dem SecurityToken befindet.

Hierzu muss in der Windows Registrierung unter: „HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\digitronic\SecureLogon2\CredentialProvider“ ein DWORD mit dem Namen „ChangePasswordWithTokenFlags“ und dem Wert 1 angelegt werden.

Sollte dieser Wert bereits existieren, muss er mit „0x1“ OR-Verknüpft werden.

Diese Option ist ab der Credential Provider Version 1.0.5.427 möglich.

Wie kann verhindert werden, dass der Secure Logon™ 2.0 Manager von Benutzern ohne administrative Rechte gestartet wird?

Damit kein Standard-Nutzer den Manager öffnen kann, muss in der Registry unter: „HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\digitronic\SecureLogon2\Manager“ ein DWORD angelegt werden. Dieses muss den Namen „DisallowManagerUsageForUsers“ tragen und auf den Wert 1 gesetzt werden.

Diese Einstellung ist nur bei einem Manager mit einer Version größer als 1.0.8.435 möglich.

Wie kann man die Initialisierung des SecurityTokens während der Anmeldung verhindern?

Unter der Voraussetzung, dass der SecurityToken die Initialisierung mithilfe der TokenEngine unterstützt, kann ein Token normalerweise während der Anmeldung initialisiert werden.

Aus Sicherheitsgründen kann dieses Verhalten unterbunden werden. Hierzu muss in der Registry unter „HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\digitronic\SecureLogon2\CredentialProvider“ ein REG-DWORD mit dem Namen „DisableTokenInitialization“ und dem Wert 1 angelegt werden.

Dieses Feature ist ab der Credential Provider Version 1.0.5.427 verfügbar.

Ist es möglich bei der Initialisierung eines SecurityTokens während der Anmeldung die Null-PIN Funktionalität abzuschalten?

Wenn der SecurityToken eine Null-PIN Unterstützt, kann bei der Initialisierung während der Anmeldung die Null-PIN Unterstützung abgestellt werden. Hierzu muss in der Registry unter „HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\digitronic\SecureLogon2\CredentialProvider“ ein DWORD mit dem Namen „TokenInitializationDisallowNullPIN“ mit dem Wert 1 angelegt werden.

Diese Option ist ab der Credential Provider Version 1.0.5.427 möglich.

Wie kann man das Hinzufügen von Credentials während der Anmeldung verhindern?

Wird bei der Anmeldung ein leerer, aber bereits initialisierter SecurityToken verbunden, besteht per Standard die Möglichkeit einen Anmeldedatensatz zu hinterlegen. Dieses Verhalten lässt sich folgendermaßen unterbinden. Legen Sie einen REG_DWORD mit dem Namen „DisallowAddingCredentials“ mit dem Wert 1 unter „HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\digitronic\SecureLogon2\CredentialProvider“ an.

Dieses Feature ist ab der Credential Provider Version 1.0.5.427 verfügbar.

Wie kann eine Secure Logon™ 2.0-Installation deaktiviert werden?

Um eine aktivierte Installation von Secure Logon™ 2.0 zu deaktivieren, muss Secure Logon™ 2.0 deinstalliert werden. Am Ende der Deinstallation, vor dem Abschluss Dialog, erscheint eine Meldung, welche Auskunft über die automatische Deaktivierung gibt.

Bei einer Deinstallation erscheint diese Meldung in jedem Fall – egal, ob die automatische Deaktivierung erfolgreich war oder nicht. Zusätzlich wird der Inhalt der Meldung auch im Windows-Ereignisprotokoll unter „Anwendung“ protokolliert – und im Logfile des Setups.

Sollte eine Deaktivierung nicht automatisch durchgeführt werden können, so enthält die Meldung einen Deactivation Key.

Bitte geben Sie diesen unter https://www.digitronic.net/service/lizenzaktivierung-deaktivierung ein, oder senden Sie diesen via E-Mail an support@digitronic.net oder vertrieb@digitronic.net, damit die Deaktivierung durch einen digitronic® Mitarbeiter abgeschlossen werden kann.